No Support, No Tank…Yet

Since everything is a story in itself, and serves for inspiration for whatever anyone may do, let me tell you of my adventures in gaming–namely Paladins.   Paladins is an online multiplayer FPS (First Person Shooter). Similar to MOBAs, but it’s in first person. It’s closer to Overwatch than it is to Smite (Hi-Rez makes both games Paladins and Smite, BTW) .

I started the game a while ago, however abandoned it for a while. Yesterday was the day to get reacquainted.  Why the abandonment? I was playing multiple games, and this one was frustrating me.

I was frustrated because even though I was equally new, the team composition was always off. Everyone wanted to be the damage dealer or flanker. We had no one playing support (heals and/or protection),  or tank (soaks up damage and could stay on the point).

The formula was simple, a support could help keep the tank alive with heals, while the flanker and damage dealers picked off the enemy team.  Since I was too logical for my own good I would either play tank or support, and it annoyed me because if I was the tank, I had no back up. If I was the support, the enemy flankers could pick me off. No one stayed on the point to capture it.

So I returned to the game, to be refreshed and try my hardest to make do with what I have to go with.  Many of the games, the same thing happens. No tank, or no support. I still play both roles, but not at the same time. This is a for better or worse deal as I’m determined to enjoy the game and get the basics down.

Now image if these were people critical to your team, and they all want to be the top damage dealer and score kills (success, sex, or wealth). I say story motive.  Also quitting a team or abandoning them because you’re frustrated with your role.

Leave a Reply

