Triggered…Sorta

It’s been a hectic week since my last post.  Had a fam emergency that demanded my time and attention. It wasn’t pretty, but that fam member is getting better.  Needless to say this crisis left me a little drained.

I’ve still been writing, and have been doing some dialogue driven scenes that I need to work on more since I added a forth character who is bringing her brand of conflict to the story.  I don’t “hear” her voice as clear as the other characters, so I’m annoyed that hasn’t happened yet, so in due time.

The novel, which has me triggered (sorta), because yesterday I wrote a scene  in which was not terrible, but dealt with abuse, and it made me feel bad, however it was very necessary because at one point the main character has to make a choice about who is good, and how inhumane people have been to him.  The scene pinched me for a few reasons; Abuse is difficult to discuss, let alone write or read. The abusers are so dehumanizing, I found myself upset.

That said, I do feel bad things do happen to good people, and the terrible circumstances are beyond the control of ourselves. Also to experience such a dehumanizing low, and to rise above it, makes me feel a lot better knowing the character has dignity and personal strength.  I have a lot to work on in this story.  This is just one of them.

After leaving that scene alone for a long while, I thought the novel wasn’t weird enough for a bizarro story, and suddenly there was this giant rooster used to travel to the moon.  So abuse, dehumanizing, overcoming obstacles, and a moon-hopping chicken.  BTW the abuse isn’t in every scene, but for the protagonist, it’s something he can’t forget or dismiss, but I’d like to think-at least at this point-that he will overcome the negativity and not become a monster because if it.

 

Leave a Reply

