Simply Complicated

Yesterday a friend suggested–to solve my woes with the main character, that I ask myself, “what does this character really want, and then let him know he will NEVER have what he wants. His reaction to this is what will determine his character.”

That sounded so simple, until I tried to answer the question. Then my brain hurted (yes, I am fully aware that “hurted” is not a word–thought it was funny).

At first I went with his occupation, and knew he was having drama with his career as a painter,  and wanted to be taken seriously as an artist, but that wasn’t it.

The main character struggles with his desire intimacy: He wants to be in love, feel wanted, and be touched, however there’s a vicious social taboo on him.

So knowing he’s longing for something out of reach, I’ve placed him in an open spotlight where he’s the center of attention and controversy. This cause some people to panic, and have some spiteful, petty, and bigoted reactions.

So he wants intimacy, but needs to be respected as well.

His reaction to these events I haven’t fully figured out yet. I don’t want him to run and hide. He needs to stand firm, even though he’s risking harm cause people go out of their way to be petty and evil under the cloak of righteousness.

As always, happy creative endeavors.

Leave a Reply

