Genre Shifts

I looked back at my notes and writing for the novel, and observed that it has a lot dystopian elements. Being southern, the elements/tools of oppression focus on religion, which is interesting. BTW this isn’t a YA novel–I noticed many of those I hear about–or seen the movie version are dystopia-based. One of them seemed downright post-apocalyptic. That said my main character is nineteen. On a side note I thought of making the lead character forty-something, but I don’t want to overwhelm myself, and may save the idea for another story.

This novel started, and still is a bizarro genre-based story.  The novel still contains a lot of its absurd, weird, and surreal elements, as well as fantastical elements set in the modern world. For the sake of brevity–I’d say this novel is a weird urban fantasy. This all leads me to that I’ve traveled this far with the story, and here I am contemplating what it has become. This has thrown me off a little, yet excited me.

I’m excited because there are elements of the story I didn’t recognize at first, but instead of just touching on them, I can address this material. It represents a shift in some of the plot, and some of the actions/characters. I’m happy that I can make this progress, particularly when I’ve been in a fog of finals, and my creativity took a nose dive off a steep cliff. It’ll still be one word at a time, but with a little more nuance and knowledge.

As always, happy creative endeavors.

Leave a Reply

