Finals are Upon Me, Whether I Wish It Or Not

OK, for the aforementioned title I copped and revised this line from the Lord of the Rings The Two Towers films. It is apt for this situation.  If you know the scene, then you know Aragorn said it to Theoden. I’m saying the title to myself. There’s not sassy comeback to this.

For those not in the know, I work in an academic setting, so finals is part of the package.  Things seem to have this chaos effect during these times, and that’s always adding to stress for everyone. Now try to address the chaos on the weekend when some departments are closed, and you may, or may not get the on-call person.  It happens.  Also  some people are testy and desperate, and have no problems with giving out the drama.

Ignoring the bad for the moment, it is something I empathize with, as I was once a student. I’ve done my fair share of finals and overnighters.  I try to be understanding, however that really stretched the tolerance after the fifth person being in that mood.

I find I’m less creative when I’m stressed like this, and it takes time to get back in the rhythm of getting my creativity back. I may need some time off to detox from stress.

Happy better creative endeavors.

 

Leave a Reply

