Mockingbird

Part of me loves humor and poking fun at a vast majority of subjects. I try to keep it light and silly, but it often is viewed through other people’s perspective. That said, I try to be goofy in my writing, and sometimes a joke, or a sense of humor can pinch some readers the wrong way. Boy do they leap, or pee on themselves. Others just cry. The cool ones walk it off and go cry in their car, or something where we can’t see. I saw it though.  Ugly cries are the best-cause you let that shit go!

My intent of humor doesn’t always shine through the way I think it will, but it doesn’t have to shine for everyone, does it?

Writing, like any craft can poke fun at everything, and not everyone will find something funny about it. Who knows why it pinches so hard, unless someone tells me why. Then again, does that mean I should stop writing on that particular subject? Does that make it censorship? For the record no one has told me to stop writing on something. I’ve read enough stories and think pieces to see that some material doesn’t jive with everyone, and I see that as a good thing. After all can a story(ies) be universally loved?

That said if you do something stupid or ridiculous in front of me, or I hear about it, that goes in my data bank of mischief to capitalize upon. Let’s face it, I like things that can be silly, and exploring them. I also like trying to improve stories. That and I know how good it feels to be petty in my fiction writing. Don’t take me serious all the time.

I will say this. The part of me that likes to be silly likes to be seen, and doesn’t care if people disapprove.  It needs balance with a tempered, intelligent thinker who appreciates that not everyone wants or desires to see me. I’m a still do me though.

Happy creative endeavors.

3 thoughts on “Mockingbird

Leave a Reply

