A Wednesday

Today calls for light rain, and that’s fine. I did the writing I said I was going to do in yesterday’s post. It was not what I expected.  For clarity, I said I was going to write some poems from the main character’s (and allies) perspective to help me see who they are in this novel.

Writing a poem from the protagonist’s perspective proved to be tricky and broken. Broken because I kept getting distracted repeatedly. I did get a point of view, and I hope to have time to work on this more.  As a main character I know he’s going through phases, and I need to address the final phase as a hero, which he may, or may not understand and want.  I need to “hear” what he’s saying.

The allies have proved to be easier. I wrote something already on one of them, and decided that it was the right way to go with that character.  That character is a trickster archetype, so my notes reflect exactly what I want to say. I still need to write a poem from his POV because I feel it will help me ease into his thoughts better.

The third character is tricky because in my notes I knew what I wanted and who I said she was, and the fact that she shifts a lot in her her persona and actions (her archetype is shape shifter). I suppose this is more like a duality, but I understand where her conflict lies.

Another ally to work on, for the moment, is also a bit of a shapeshifter archetype, since he has opposing viewpoints, but isn’t evil. He’s more of a reluctant ally, and while I can hear his voice, I can’t nail down his point of view yet.  I do think if I look back at what I wrote for him (for the novel), I’ll hear his voice better.

Happy creative endeavors.

 

 

Leave a Reply

