Not Focused

Today I’m a bit scatterbrained, and that’s not good. I need to get centered and do some creative writing, or find myself having a blah day. Knowing me there’s some procrastination involved in this process, and I have a sudden desire to clean my room, which does need cleaning, BUT that shouldn’t stop me from putting pen to paper.

Yesterday yielded some varying results with me briefly reclaiming a short story, and rewriting a few lines as an exercise in revisions. It wasn’t bad, and I did go on a bit of a tangent with it (was supposed to working on the novel), but I liked the exercise, and reading the words back aloud to see if they fit that short story.  I will have to fill in a lot of gaps with that.

Did write down more thoughts and ideas for the novel, and it occurred to me, that I need to be far better organized. It’s clear that I have set down some rules, major characters, and some important factors that I can file under “lore” or “icons” to this world. This needs to be in a file I can refer back to. This also begs me to redo the outline with the expanded knowledge I do know. Who knew this was going to get more complicated.  It’s kind of like painting, in that you can start it, think you’re finished, but details need to be added.

As always, happy creative endeavors.

 

Leave a Reply

