World Building

I’m working on more notes for the novel, and what I’m learning about world building is that it is not as simple as I initially believed, thought, or invested time in. There are points where I questioned character’s motives, what key icons are constantly seen the world.

There was a point where I saw the antagonist and asked in my notebook, what does he do for a living. How does he get things together, and what motivates him when he gets up. None of this has made the character sympathetic to me–he’s not supposed to by, but I was worried I’d go too far.

On top of this, I asked myself what is this story about. NOTE: Not the plot, but the story’s about.  I came up with a few ideas, but they should be simple. For example; this novel is about challenging the status quo, or, this novel is about embracing your fear for fun and profit. So I need to work on what I believe the novel is about without telling people the plot.

That said, all I can do is keep inching towards greatness. Those last three words could easily be what my story’s about. Happy creative accidents are good accidents.

Happy creative endeavors.

Leave a Reply

