Tuesday Starts Slow

Felt so sluggish this morning, and coffee didn’t help me in the least. I should have skipped it altogether, but then that nagging feeling of, “you should have tried it,” would live in my thoughts. Didn’t want that in my day.  Needless to say, I’m awake, and stuff needs to be done. Time to get back on the horse and write more material. I must add the allergy meds have a slight drowsy effect on me. I hate changing them, because my system has to get used to it, and that takes time.

Observed in my notes that I wanted to adjust the setting of my novel. It’s not a major setback in the least, but I thought of new locations, and that came with a different set of personal desires and goals for the MC. It also helps tie some of the themes together. I found myself referencing some material to research, and added some other things–thus expanding the idea beyond what I thought it could be.

I believe the previous written material for the novel could seamlessly blend with the newer ideas IF I put the effort forth to think it through and execute it. My greatest fear was I would overwork the material. It’s a novel in the bizarro genre, however it has strong contemporary fantasy elements. I feel I represent the genre elements, but there was a few story elements missing. I dare say I compartmentalize a lot of parts, and need to get them organized.

Speaking of efforts, I was chatting with my brother about a subject/genre for a screenplay and was hesitant of the combo. Of course I realized I could write what I wanted without worry, AND get it done. That worry dissolved into humor. I needed to remind myself to focus and worry less about can I or can’t I. The reasons never seem to be something substantial.

Other than these factors, I will try to keep positive and productive. It seems to be the right thing to do to keep a balance in my structure.

Happy creative endeavors.

Leave a Reply

