Thursday Progress

Last night I think I at least completed the first draft of this chapter for the novel. It is, more or less a crossing of the threshold for the hero. At least more than I realized when i originally wrote the outline. This changes some things for me., as I know what’s going to happen next, however, that changes slightly now that we’re in act two, but I think I can make the necessarily adjustments. I may need to go back and adjust the outline, just the same.

I know act one is a bit of a mess with this one guiding light. Things have really shifted, but I am sure I can clean this text up there as well. I had a few false starts, and I have some writing I’m loving that needs to be cleaned and organized.  I’m tempted to go back and make the changes necessary before pushing forward. I also have to open up a few chapters for some breaks from the main hero to some other characters, and introduce the MC’s allies.

What I’ve noticed with the current writing is I need to place more time on character interaction, reactions, and conflicts.  Otherwise nothing’s happening of true interest other than me indulging myself.

So I need to do some more writing. One word at a time. I also know a couple of scenes need to be revised because they are good but lack some oomph. I can do this. I know I can.

Now for math: if I have twenty-five chapters and they average ten pages minimum, I’ll have two-hundred fifty pages.  That’s a lotta writing.

Happy creative endeavors.

Leave a Reply

