Bad, Bad, Me

Let’s ignore politics in the US for a brief moment, which I have been watching a lot of this weekend.  Let’s do something fun.  Like be creative.

My creative output dried up and died, and I was being self-conscious about a lot of things, including the material not being perfect or acceptable to all. Then I imagined I’d have to apologize a lot to people for making them feel bad. It all amounted to a lot of stupid thoughts being the loudest ones in my head.  How I hate when that happens.

So I need to get to the point where I accept the stories for what they are, and for better or worse adopt the “take the stories as they are” mentality. If you don’t like it, that’s cool. If you love them that’s cool.  But more important is that I get out of the mindset that everything has to be accepted and loved or its invalid.  I really set myself up to fail, and fear success. I’m embarrassed, and  somewhat amused at this non-issue that’s become an issue for me.

This is why I can ignore politics. My life ain’t together, and I’d like to win at being creative, and finding my voice(s). I do feel like a hot mess in 2017, but it’s a new year, and we’ve only just begun, right? It’s not like I can’t or don’t write.  I’m simply haunted by ghosts of my own making.  I must do better than that. I’m better than that.

Happy creative endeavors.

Leave a Reply

