Fiscal Sense & Sensibility

So yesterday I had a talk with a financial planner to discuss more sobering things like financial planning, retirement, and plans for paying debt. I felt like I hot mess, confessing stuff, but I was a hot mess, and not in a good way. First of all this isn’t the worse meeting in the world, just some discomfort, and looking at my own financial strengths and inadequacies. So it was quite sobering.

I have to plan more, and make some more sobering commitments to my future if I wish to have some modest success in  my future. It kinda worries me because I didn’t want to think about it, however, it’s in my thoughts now. The meeting was 100% worth the time to feel some discomfort, and made me feel a little more mature and complex. Mortality is scary, and birthdays are fun for me, but I’m getting older, and I need to have some things on my table ASAP.

Also I could stand some structure in my finances.

What does this have to do with creativity and writing? It is fuel for future stories, and themes I know upset me, but could be faced within a story. So I think that’s powerful. I also think we can all look at our own finances, and try to do better–when possible.

As always, happy creative endeavors.

Leave a Reply

