Five More Pages

Slowly the page count goes places. I am grateful to say I typed up five pages of story yesterday, which brings me up to twenty-nine. I’m excited, and this is the longest I’ve written for a prose story, and there’s more to go. By screenplay standards, which this is not, I’d be done with the first act by page twenty-five. Act two would be fifty pages, and act three twenty-five. I’ve barely scratched the surface, but these things are all numbers games, and lessons in patience. I’ll say this again, I’m glad I have a synopsis and outline to work from, because I think this would be a very different kind of story.

When I first thought of this concept, like so many others, I didn’t know how to get from point A to point B, so having ideas work and flow is a good thing. Also thinking them through (at least the main points) has given me a clarity that tells me not to abandon the synopsis or the outline for future projects. I could even work short stories with them, but I’m getting ahead of myself.

Also worked on revising a script with some friends, and it felt good to collaborate. I promised myself to work further on this, but always ended up getting side tracked. Then I promised myself to do two pages last night, and I ended up revising several pages. So I will try for two more tonight, and see what happens.

As always, happy creative endeavors.

One thought on “Five More Pages

  1. Slow and steady wins the race. Keep plugging away! The more regularly you sit down the faster and easier it’s going to get. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

