Third Pass at Revisions

Yesterday, I failed to do a backup for my chapter files. So today I made sure to back the files up. Part of the revisions I did were for dialog corrections. Some of my characters didn’t have any distinction between their voices, and I corrected that. As I looked over the revisions for the pages of this first chapter, I wondered to myself–with three separate scenes, are actually separate chapters?

When I started writing chapter one, it was a soup bunch, and needed a bit of untangling, which I was more than happy to do. I looked and saw that the scenes-two short ones, and one larger scene could stand on their own. Together they make up fourteen pages, but would be short, punchy chapters that tell you what you need to know and move on. This may come from writing scripts and screenplays.

So perhaps this chapter needs a third pass, just to review the material, and see if my assessment is a correct call. Otherwise I just want to work on the ending of one scene, and move onto a new chapter for the pitch, as well as to eventually complete the novel. There’s much work to be done, and I barely scratched the surface of completion. It feels daunting, and to be honest, intimidating. Don’t get me wrong, I love writing, and building this world and characters. I simply feel the sting of the inevitable first hundred pages or so.

So, I must wash away my fears, or eat them, either way they have to go, and keep writing.

Happy creative endeavors.

Leave a Reply

