Dry Start to This Day

Remember those days, when as a child you couldn’t wait to grow up and make the rules? You’d be the law, and that’s the bottom line–at the least all you saw yourself doing. Were it that easy, and uncomplicated, then adulthood would be fun. Instead, you know there’s no one above you enforcing rules you need to obey. Some of the rules are set by others, however it is I who must get on top of those rules, and follow them as best as I can.

The day started with a bit of a thud; Didn’t want to get up, get dressed, and get to work. I got over that feeling, and got my act together, and to work. Sometimes, though, getting out of bed is rough as all get out. That partial drift out of sleep into awake state can have days where my strength is not with the awakened part of me. Don’t get me wrong, I am most grateful to be awake, and able to get to tasks that the day needs. Part of the charm of being an adult.

The day was not fully wasted, there was some shelf reading – making sure the books were in the correct order by their call number, and shelf checking – making sure several of the shelves looked organized, and items were not out of place. Also helping some patrons out with their searches.

Needless to say I need some coffee, or a latte. Something to put a pep back in my step because this kind of lull state is not here to stay, I assure you.

Happy creative endeavors.

 

Leave a Reply

