The Hump Day

It’s Wednesday, the sky is clear, outside warm, and cool in the shade. It’s not too bad of a day. My meals have been erratic as my appetite, and sometimes all I have is a bit of a meal, as opposed to a full meal. Not on purpose, however my work schedule has changed, and that means my sleep patterns are off. On top of that, I feel like a hot mess in the head.

Writing is in chill mode at the moment, as I wind down to the final stage of the workshop, which is feedback from the instructor on the last project. I said it before, the final project was a bit tougher than I anticipated. I created a pitch for a novella–which may become a novel–but that’s another post. It took a lot of work, and a few missteps on my part, but I’m glad I got through with the project. I gave feedback from peers, as well as received feedback, so it was a great thing. Now that I’ve had a couple of days to relax from creating, I feel good. I do feel, however, the desire in the back of my head to create more.

This project ran parallel with the finals on campus, and somehow, to me, felt like academics and my workshop synced. For a moment, I was brought back to finals, and the all nighters I did for academic papers on films. It was a bit of stressful situation back then, yet it was done. I made it through, and for the workshop project, I did the same. Relief is a good thing, and rest was more than called for.

Now for the final word, the instructor’s insight. Instructors have that Jedi-insight. Cuts through all of our fillers, and defenses, and tell us not what we want, but what we need to improve the material, and ourselves in the process. So it’s both exciting, and nervous to get information. Its not like I don’t know what responses my previous material produced. Still, I find myself nervous because peer and instructor information is something we can all use. Constructive feedback is powerful, and is a powerful currency.

As always, happy creative endeavors.

Leave a Reply

