Keep It Moving

It looks like whatever was ailing me has decided to kick rocks and leave me be for the most part.  A pesky, lingering cough, congestion, and sinus drama want to stay, but I’m handling them with the proper medicines. It’s good to be at least able to have an appetite again.

My mind has been filled with a lot of nonsense words for the past few days, and I’ve been ignoring them. Then the thought of defining these words came to mind. They have stories behind them, and my curiosity is peaked.

Last night, I was chatting with a friend. We were laughing at our love for silly genre movies on Syfy Network. Most of these movies are abysmal in terms of story and acting, but there’s an appreciation for kitsch films.

We also agreed that these films should be more fun, and less wound too tight. Think about it, Sharknado, in my opinion, is fun because its inherently silly in premise and content, and it seems most are “in” on the humor. Disclaimer: This does not mean I think it has universal appeal, or is a “must” watch, but that the creators/crew knows its silly and go with it.

Then I  joked that being a “serious” artist (me, who strives and struggles to have a tone and message with my work) needs to chill, and have fun with the text. I may have also said something about celebrating banality, and declared I may have started a creative/artistic moment. I’m nowhere near serious, but I do like being silly, so that was a moment of fun worth mentioning.

As always, happy creative endeavors.

Leave a Reply

