Old and New

After a couple of inquiries, I need to clarify some of my goals and aspirations.  For those not in the know, I am a writer and blogger. I use a variety of mediums to write both fiction and non-fiction, such as poetry, short story, TV scripts, and screenplays. I prefer to write scripts and screenplays for film and television. You can add scripts for comics as well, and need to get on top of that.

Some of my education has been geared to film and television, mainly research, film history, film theory, and writing based on the text.  I also learned to write and format television scripts, comics, and screenplays for films.

The one constant project I’ve been pushing is the completion of a speculative pilot, and two additional episodes for a TV series. It is a fantasy series, and it is my hope that the spec pilot is gets picked up for production, and lands on a network as a series. This project has been a challenge, as I started, and forgot some of my teachings in regards to formatting. I went back and reread textbooks, and relearned the format process.

Also part of it is me learning to cut out parts of a script that, while they look good, may not fit with the story and format. Sometimes I’m adept at this, other times I’m terrible. At this stage I’m revising, and editing, since I have the luxury of doing so without a time table. I hope to have the pilot looking like a champ.

 

Happy creative endeavors.

Leave a Reply

