That Unhip Moment

As a reminder, being off the internet for over a month was an interesting experience. I love my social media, but being away meant learning more about myself. Returning means seeing some things with fresher eyes. It ain’t a perfect experience, but it ain’t that terrible either.

I was reading an article when the word “SJW” appeared multiple times, and I hadn’t a clue as to what the word meant. I realize I’m behind in the times, and lingo does’t always sink in. The natural step for me was to look up the term on Google, and get some context.

“SJW” stands for “social justice warrior,” and it’s a a put down to those who champion causes they know know little or nothing about, that they can grandstand upon for social cred. From what I can tell this goes along with “false outrage” (histrionics over resolvable issues).

This is the internet version of calling someone out who doesn’t practice what they preach, or simply the ability to run off at the mouth, but left the facts and action down the street. Old school facts: that’s how one got their ass kicked. You talk smack, can’t back it up, and your goose is cooked.

What this reminds me of is the many conversations and posts I’ve read online that seemingly had the conviction, but not the strength or courage to be more than an upset cabbage cart. Not that all my experiences are like this in the least, but it sheds light on things I’m not interested in reading anymore.

I’m a firm believer that if you don’t like something, you have to make changes. I can’t change people, so it means I gotta keep some things moving. I don’t want to be bathed in negativity. Can’t avoid it, and it can be managed. It can be dismissed, and quite frankly, I got not time for insincerity and drama that’s not in a script or screenplay.

As always, happy creative endeavors.

Leave a Reply

