A Walk Down Broughton St. (NSFW)

NOTE: This post contains strong language, so I wanted to warn people upfront it’s definitely Not Safe For Work.

A few years ago, in the city of Savannah, I was walking down Broughton Street. I was returning to my job from a trip to Starbucks for my afternoon latte. That’s when this dude tries to stop me and asked me for some money.  I told him sorry I don’t have any money on me. He waited until I walked away from him to yell out the word, “faggot.” He repeated it several times, and I never turned back to acknowledge him.  Now I’m going to assume he thought he was hurting my feelings, and if I was to take his comments seriously, I may fall all to pieces.

Two important things I want to discuss that makes the story worth talking about. The first is I know the younger me would not have tolerated such foolishness. Dude would’ve gotten a smart ass answer back. Something along the lines of, “that’s not what your momma calls me,” or “your daddy says not call him that while he’s on his knees.” I’m not kidding, I can give just as good as I can take. Sometimes I do feel some people do need just to be snapback just so they can keep themselves still, or at the very least realize they’re not playing with a child. Politeness is not weakness.  Not by a longshot.

My second point, and the reason I was inspired to discuss this scenario, is a lot of people think they can put a person down by inventing a negative sexual shaming. Sometimes the insult is by gender, race, or orientation.  It doesn’t matter. It’s a nasty thing for any human being to do to another. Granted no one wants to be called out of their name. I’ve mentioned in a previous post that when someone has to resort to name-calling in a situation they’ve already lost. More importantly most choose to do their name-calling behind your back so that their words will remain unchallenged.

A lot of people feel empowered and emboldened when they disrespect others, but in reality, they are trying to mask their insecurities, immaturity, and weakness. Utter foolishness.

Leave a Reply

