A Late Night Post with Film Talk

Decided to watch Empire Strikes Back,one of my favorite movies. Now that I have it in, I believe it’s time to write a post.  Was working on something earlier, however, I wanted to edit it further, as it is an essay, That doesn’t mean that I shouldn’t have a post for today. A professor once said to the class, “writing is rewriting,” but I think it leads to writing beats more writing, at time. It’s just that nothing ends for me at simply one project. There is more to write. This professor also asked the class what films did we watch over the weekend. You can’t write screenplays without at least watching films. So for keeping that engrained in my brain, I have to thank Chris Auer for that.

it’s been cold today, but not freezing.  My room gets real warm, so the temps may be different in other places of the house.  Here I sit watching whatever movies strike my face.  That reminds me, Alien was on the other night. I love that film.  It’s a good mix of science fiction and horror. It’s also a film where in some pots the flashing lights play havoc on my eyes.  That final scene where Ripley is in the shuttle, and the creature outstretches its hand to grab her was perfectly disarming. Glad she didn’t give up and die, and fought back.

An older film, Leviathan was on.  it’s also a mix of science fiction and horror.  it’s nowhere a deep film, but nostalgia compelled me to watch it.  I enjoy it, but unless you’re curious for something older and undersea, you’ll be bored. There are some elements one could just see is going to happen before they do. It was still a fun watch for me, after all the years of not seeing it.

I’m gonna mention Predator (the original) because its been on several times, and I always end up watching it. I don’t know if it’s sci-fi horror. It does have some suspense and actions with a whole predator and prey angle. It’s pretty enjoyable film for me. it’s the strongest of all the predator films. Predators (note plural) wasn’t a bad film.

Be very leery of the Aliens vs Predators films. I’ll talk of those on a later date. I saw the first. it was ok. It did a lot to tie some elements of both franchises together.  The second film, I tried to watch, and turned my TV for lack on interest. I can say the first AvP did have some tension and suspense (and break a lot of rules for what we know).  The second seemed to pit teens/youngsters against the creature. Don’t know if that’s 100% accurate as I didn’t pay attention. It really wasn’t sci-fi horror to me.

So clearly, I have a lot to say, even when I’m editing essays I have yet to post.  I can talk of films all day, and happy to mention some of the things that interested me within to course of the day.

For the record, I have been writing more scenes, and I so need to get them formatted and presentable.

Happy creative endeavors, and see some good films.

Leave a Reply

