A Late Night Post

A bit behind in the blogging department, which is not a new thing for me. It’s time to get back into the swing of things. Got to watch a couple of episodes of Legend of Korra, which is a really sophisticated animated series. I’ll have to write an essay on the series at some point. It will serve as a primer of sorts to people who are unfamiliar with the series.

Speaking of animation, a conversation with peeps about how some cartoons have a watered down quality to them really bothered me. Animation can be complex without being too deep. I get the feeling that the general belief that animation equals “dumbed down,” which is not always to case. For example, Adventure Time and Regular Show has appeal for children and adults. The same with Korra. Each show is different from the other in content and style. All worth a glance or two.

What lead me to this conversation is I peeped at Marvel’s Avengers Assemble. It was lackluster to me. This is when my friend suggested the program is aimed at younger generations. Fair enough, and I felt watching the show was an overly safe version of the Avengers movie. That’s rather disappointing. Trust me, I’m a lover of animated programs, and will give them all a shot, but I have to be entertained. Here I was not engaged, and watched the whole episode. I said I wouldn’t do a second.

This is not to say shows can’t improve. For example, Green Lantern, the Animated series grew stronger and a little more complex. Young Justice certainly was a good watch, as was Tron Uprising. They were all sophisticated with complex storylines, characters and action. Those three were canceled. That’s disappointing, because it may signal a trend to make stories overly simple. It may not, who knows. I certainly don’t have insight into network programming.

Glad to know not all animation hasn’t gone to my personal unwatchable list.

Leave a Reply

