A Cinema Confession: Return of the Jedi

I watched Return of the Jedi last week, and completely forgot about the alterations George Lucas made to the film. The new musical numbers really threw me off. I really loved the originals. It’s heartbreaking that they aren’t intact. Additional SFX I didn’t mind. Take the good stuff out, and I felt I was watching a whole different movie.

Also Darth Vader saying “nooooo” while Palpatine attacked Luke made me giggle more than anything. I don’t know what came over me. I giggled at Vader. He used to be cool. Now he’s a little camp, or at least parodies his own coolness with a touch of melodrama. If Luke had some Mentos, that would set that scene off well. Then I’d have to get Lucas a “well played” response.

I still like the film, but I need to see if I can find my older DVD copy. It may not have those drastic alterations. I’d like to satisfy my nostalgia fix.

Leave a Reply

