Fear Itself (Part One)

Speaking strictly for myself, holding onto fear is a real thing I’ve struggled to defeat. Sometimes my own insecurities get the better of me, and I don’t feel my art is good. When that happens, I’m in need of that validation to say it’s good. This is to say, I need to get over that hurdle. Fear allows us to sacrifice aspects of ourselves, and we can move away from the object of fear. I wasn’t fair to myself. That’s got to change immediately.

There was a time I’d do things without a worry about what people thought of it. I’d get it done. It was 100% worth those efforts. For example, I love writing this blog, and often allow doubts and fears to fall by the wayside. I’m gonna keep writing what I like to do, and I’m going to continue to enjoy writing it. Not everything falls in line like the blog.

My artwork suffered the greatest from fear, and I haven’t done art in a while. After some mild rejections, I doubted my abilities. I felt I wouldn’t go anywhere with my art, and in many ways, I abandoned a passion of mine. That’s what fear did to me. I can tell you I used to draw on a regular basis, and I loved creating as an artist who happened to also love writing. It was something I did without thinking. I can’t tell you how much of a joy it was to work on a craft that, at the time, was all about expressing myself, and less about what others wanted or needed to see.

Leave a Reply

