Fables in the Mix

Writing a fables has been quite a struggle for me. In the past, I wrote down the plots, characters, some cool titles, but that doesn’t make the story complete. After several false starts I was at a loss on how to get this story going. My mind couldn’t make it work. It went into my “hold” folder while I let it rest. It stopped resting while I worked on The Wasteland. If anyone remembers, I was supposed to serialize Wasteland on my blog, but found the surreal elements needed a visual component, and perhaps it would work better as a comic book or graphic novel.

As I wrote before, I brainstormed ideas for stories for The Wasteland for the past few days. I managed to get the ideas typed, and my goal was to pick the best four of the best ideas so I can begin scripts. On a lark I added the fable concepts to my brainstorming session. It stayed in my mind, because it fit into this bizarro world. As I tried to pick storylines (I had two I was sure I wanted to write for sure), I looked at one of the fable stories, and wondered harder how it could fit into this world.

I felt compelled to write out (in prose form) the story with the characters from the fable. As it stands I found that they fell right into this world. I wrote out ten pages (it might be five pages typed-will find out this weekend). Still the idea of having the characters find a new life is wonderful. I thought this story didn’t have the bite it needed, when in fact it was waiting for the right scenario to arrive. What does this mean? It means I have another layer to the story I want to tell, and a few surprises. So far the draft’s unfinished, and I was pressed for time.

Don’t get me wrong, a lot of this, once the first draft is done is going to need some mad revisions. I can see some spots I need to adjust already. Also some scenes need better settings. I may turn around and adapt the short story into a script. I won’t know until I finish it. I do know that a few characters I created for the actual story have more definition, and a stronger sense of being. I didn’t expect a couple of characters to be go in the direction they did.  I also didn’t think some of the characters would interact the way they did. I can see, in part what the protagonist wants to do, in spite of being warned and threatened not to do it. It makes me wonder what shall happen. I’ve got to get that on paper. I want to see what happens. I have a vague idea I that needs to be put on paper.

So does this mean The Wasteland‘s prose again? Will the short story inspire others, or get longer? Will it be a series of short stories (or episodes)? Will there be scripts for this story? I don’t know yet. What I do know and love is that the story went from written concepts to story. I feel I have a lot to work with, and a lot to resolve before I can make any other decisions.

As always, happy creative endeavors.

Leave a Reply

